Christmas Décor 2014

Hey guys! Long time no blog. Maybe in 2015 I will have more than 3 posts in 1 year 🙂

A lot has changed with my Christmas décor this year vs. last year, but one thing that has not changed is my love for the color blue.  I added some white picture ledges AND drum roll please………a white fireplace mantle! The mantle especially involved pulling out my decorations, playing around with things, and then re-doing it a time or four. I like to DIY on a budget instead of paying full price for all new décor, in fact 99% of my Christmas décor was bought on sale or clearance!  The blue canvas is one of my favorite pieces on the mantle and it cost me nothing. (Insert fist pump here.)  I found a canvas in a guest room closet, painted it with some paint I already had and wrote a line from one of my favorite Christmas hymns. I also added some old books that I had strategically picked out at Goodwill in Christmas colors…I think they were 20 cents each! The black oval frame was also a Goodwill find that I had in my garage waiting to be used someday. People! You are not too cool to go to Goodwill, trust me! I won’t even get started on the vintage dishes I have found there. Back to the Christmas décor: xmas1

The Tree Farm pallet art was made by my friend Heidi.  You can find her other pallet art on her Facebook page: "Handmade by Heidi". She does custom orders as well!

The Tree Farm pallet art was made by my friend Heidi. You can find her other pallet art on her Facebook page: “Handmade by Heidi”. She does custom orders as well!

The picture ledges above Avery’s toy dresser (yes that thing is hiding hundreds of toys in my living room) was fun to play around with too. I hung these this summer and have enjoyed adding and subtracting things when I need a little “change of scenery” in the house. I mixed in some Christmas décor with some items I already had up as well as took some items down to make room. xmas5

xmas4

The Joy banner is actually on my hutch

xmas3

I love love love fresh mini carnations.

The picture on the left is my favorite ornament that we received for Christmas last year.

The picture on the left is one of my favorite ornaments that we received for Christmas last year.

350

404

And lastly, Avery's play kitchen...complete with his choice of purple Christmas bulbs on the tree.

And lastly, Avery’s play kitchen…complete with his choice of purple Christmas bulbs on the tree.

I failed to get a good, full sized picture of our fresh Frasier Fir Christmas tree, but here’s some proof:

Avery's gift from Mommy

Avery’s gift from Mommy

 

6 thoughts on “Christmas Décor 2014

Leave a Reply

