Avery’s Donut Birthday Party

Saturday we celebrated Avery’s 4th birthday with family and friends. This year when I asked him what theme he wanted for his party, I was expecting some Disney character or sports theme like he requested in the past. So, when Avery shouted,  “I want a Donut Birthday Party!!”, I was excited and confused but not that surprised either. I know that makes no sense, right? It wasn’t what I expected him to choose since it was sort of out of the box, but the kid LOVES donuts and I have to admit, I was thinking to myself, “this could be fun for me to plan!” We had the party at 11am and I got away with providing just donuts, fruit, milk & coffee as opposed to the entire spread of food and cake/cupcakes like his first 3 parties. As much as I like doing the food part I have to say it was SO AWESOME not having to come up with a meal and do food prep for 35 people! We ordered 7 dozen donuts from Festival Foods and let Taste of Scandinavia do all the work! Well…other than those few donuts that I added blue drizzle to 😉 Here is details of the party in photos. Enjoy! photo 1

photo 2

I had my very creative friend, Jenny Bettendorf, design this awesome poster for the party! I gave her some ideas of what I wanted and she ran with it. I could not be more pleased with it!

donut party 10

We were also able to find Gluten Free donuts for Uncle John & Aunt Dena at Festival Foods!

We were also able to find Gluten Free donuts for Uncle John & Aunt Dena at Festival Foods!

look at the size of those apple fritters!

look at the size of those apple fritters!

The only good thing about having a winter birthday is we were able to keep the milk cold in the snow outside our patio door.

The only good thing about having a winter birthday is we were able to keep the milk cold in the snow outside our patio door.

donut shop coffee

photo 2

I could not believe that Avery and his girlfriend from daycare, Kendal, picked the apple fritters. They must have thought bigger is better.

I could not believe that Avery and his “girlfriend” from daycare, Kendal, picked the apple fritters. They must have thought bigger is better.

I ordered some plain cake donuts for the kids to decorate themselves as well. Here is Avery's hot mess.

I ordered some plain cake donuts for the kids to decorate themselves as well. Here is Avery’s hot mess.

Donut Craft!

Donut Craft!

  donut party 12

donut paty 14

party favor table

party favor table

donut party 16 donut party 14 donut party 13

These cardboard donuts cost me nothing to make! I was able to use an old box and some paint I already owned.

These cardboard donuts cost me nothing to make! I was able to use an old box and some paint I already owned.

donut party 16  

10 thoughts on “Avery’s Donut Birthday Party

  1. Everything looks perfect (as usual). You are a fabulous party planner and designer. You should consider going into the business full time.

    XOXO
    Kate

Leave a Reply

